Carl McComb has been elected Chair of Racing Tauranga and Michael Bayly is the new Deputy Chair.

Carl has been a board member since November 2017 and in the 2018/19 season was elected Deputy Chair. The highlight of his time on the board to date is instigating a review resulting in the restructuring of Classic Cuisine to better align with the Club’s strategic direction. He is a director of this entity on behalf of the Club and represents the Club on the Racecourse Reserve Trust Board.

Carl is the Managing Director of a business group which has developed payment terminals & systems for the Australasian gaming market and he brings a strong commercial background and understanding of technology, hospitality and charitable funding.

He has interests in horse ownership, breeding and syndication, both in New Zealand and Australia.

Carl is looking forward to the challenge of his new role and is focussed on ensuring the long-term relevance and viability of racing in the Bay of Plenty. 

Departing Chair Frank Vosper has contributed greatly to the success of our Club and has provided visionary leadership over the last 2 years. Frank instigated a number of projects, including the grandstand upgrade, the installation of the irrigation system and the renovation of the Winners Circle bar.

Frank was the first Chairman of the Board after we moved from a committee structure to a board of governance and he championed the need for the Club to run like a business; having the right people with the right skills in the right place.

It takes perseverance and positivity to lead organisations through times of change and Frank has plenty of both. His passion for racing and the Club is unwavering and he has given it his all. However, after driving significant and necessary change, and with the Club now set for success, it is time to hand over the reins.  Frank remains on the board and will assist Carl with his transition to Chair.